Free Shipping On All Orders

5 Fun Facts About December 9 In Arkansas History

---Learn Every Day: AR Today In History Facts Texted Each Day - Text: history ar To: 618-270-4005---

1. In 1819, the Arkansas Territory was established by Congress, comprising present-day Arkansas, Oklahoma, and parts of Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Montana.

2. In 1836, Little Rock was officially designated as the capital of Arkansas. Prior to that, the capital had moved several times between different towns in the territory.

3. In 1851, the first issue of the Arkansas Democrat newspaper was published in Little Rock. It is still in publication today, making it one of the oldest newspapers in the United States.

4. In 1917, the Arkansas State Council of Defense was established in response to the United States' entry into World War I. The council was responsible for overseeing civilian activities related to the war effort.

5. In 1936, the Arkansas State Capitol building was completed in Little Rock. The building stands as a symbol of the state's political and cultural history and is open to the public for tours.
  • Tags: AR

Older Post Newer Post

Added to cart!
Free Shipping on Every Order | Unconditional Lifetime Warranty | Purchase Orders Accepted | Family Owned and Operated Free Priority Shipping On All USA Orders You Have Qualified for Free Shipping Spend $x to Unlock Free Shipping You Have Achieved Free Shipping Fee Free Financing Available - Pay Just 25% Today - Just Choose Installment Pay At Checkout Free Shipping On All Orders You Have Achieved Free Shipping Free shipping when you order over XX ou Have Qualified for Free Shipping